Departments » Educational Services » ELD Program for English Learners

ELD Program for English Learners

DELAC meetings are held at the District Office in the District Board Room and are open to the public. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all meetings will be held virtually until further notice.

 

2021-2022 DELAC Meeting Schedule

 

Thursday, February 17, 2022

Join Zoom Meeting

https://rbusd-org.zoom.us/j/99163736287?pwd=bHVKUklLTmFTMTJhcjJxVTRhUiszZz09 

Meeting ID: 991 6373 6287
Passcode:
866378

 

Thursday, March 31, 2022

Join Zoom Meeting

https://rbusd-org.zoom.us/j/97138145589?pwd=bGd0QkYxcW9VdHA0alpuV2htM0tTdz09 

Meeting ID: 971 3814 5589

Passcode: 218155

 

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Join Zoom Meeting

https://rbusd-org.zoom.us/j/94212873304?pwd=M0MrY2x6a1FPdXhFT2p3TDR1Y3Bodz09

Meeting ID: 942 1287 3304

Passcode: 179384

 

Meeting Time and Location

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Via Zoom

 

English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC) Overview:

 

California Education Code – Section 52176(b) mandates for each school with more than 20 pupils of limited English proficiency to establish a school level advisory committee on which parents or guardians, or both, of such pupils constitute membership in at least the same percentage as their children and wards represent of the total number of pupils in the school. In addition, the law is clear that the parents or guardians of English learners shall elect the parent members of the school advisory committee.

 

The ELAC has the following responsibilities:

  1. Advise the school site council (SSC) on the development of the school plan;
  2. Assist with the district/school’s needs assessment;
  3. If the district has 51 or more English learners, the ELAC must elect a representative to the District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC); and
  4. ELAC must receive training materials and training, planned in full consultation with committee members, to assist members in carrying out their legal responsibilities.

For ELAC members to advise the principal and staff on the programs and services provided to English learners, committee members need to understand:

  1. The program and services that are currently offered;
  2. Available fiscal and human resources;
  3. Academic achievement results of students participating in the program; and
  4. What options are or are not available.

Number of Meetings:

 

Legislation does not define a specific number of ELAC meetings that must be held each year; however, the law does identify the activities that need to be completed by the ELAC. “How many” meetings does the ELAC need to have each year? The answer can be determined by asking:

  1. What is the best way to provide ELAC members, especially parents/guardians with information about the services and program available for English learners?
  2. How can all members be provided an opportunity to actively participate in committee discussions and decisions (advise and assist)?
  3. What is the best way to provide training to ELAC members?

The number of meetings will also vary depending upon the current knowledge and comfort level of parents/guardians, but most of the schools find that between 4-5 meetings per year allows the time for the ELAC to cover the basic requirements. Some schools ask their ELAC parents to attend additional training meetings so that the parents have additional time to ask questions. Therefore, the agenda becomes the vehicle to assure that all requirements are met in a timely manner.

 

One recommendation: Schedule the ELAC meetings before the school site council meetings. This will allow ELAC members the time to efficiently meet their responsibility for providing input to the school site council regarding budget and program needs of English learners.

2018-2019 Agendas
SBOE APPROVED LEA PLAN
 

For more information regarding our English Learner Program, please contact your site's English Learner Site Specialist listed below:
 
 
School ELSite Specialist Contact Information
Alta Vista Sue Carlton
Beryl Heights Sara Sill ssill@rbusd.org 
Birney Pam Cadena pcadena@rbusd.org 
Jefferson Sara LaTorre slatorre@rbusd.org
Lincoln Barbara Ozanich bozanich@rbusd.org 
Madison Tanya Palanco cuhe@rbusd.org 
Tulita Blanca Vega bvega@rbusd.org 
Washington
Dalia Rodriguez &
Alma Orozco
Adams Middle
Jennell Tanaka jtanaka@rbusd.org
Parras Middle Carly Garofalo cgarofalo@rbusd.org 
RUHS Sonia Coronel scoronel@rbusd.org 
Patricia Dreizler Hilary Greasar hgreasar@rbusd.org 

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

 

Please visit the California Department of Education's ELPAC Parent Resource website in order to better understand the ELPAC Score Report.

 

You can take an ELPAC Practice Test with your child. See below or the flyer.