Educational Services » Gifted and Talented Education (GATE)

Gifted and Talented Education (GATE)

GATE IN RBUSD

Dear RBUSD Parent/Guardian:
The Redondo Beach Unified School District recognizes the needs of students with exceptional abilities through the Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) program. The RBUSD GATE program identifies gifted and talented students and provides them with learning opportunities based on their individual needs, capabilities, and strengths. The purpose of the RBUSD GATE program is not to simply identify our highest achieving students. Rather, it is our goal to identify students with exceptional abilities, well beyond their peer group, and determine how we can best provide differentiated learning experiences for them.

All GATE students in RBUSD are served through a number of delivery models and settings. GATE identified students receive differentiated instruction in clustered groups in classrooms during the regular school day and participate in enrichment opportunities throughout the year. It is important to note that while GATE participation is one of the criteria that could potentially identify secondary students in honors courses, it is not the only or most important criteria. Participation in GATE does not automatically guarantee that secondary students will be identified for honors/AP courses, and students not participating in GATE may still participate in honors/AP courses.

With the transition to the Common Core State Standards and a new state assessment system replacing the California Standards Test (CST), the Redondo Beach Unified School District has reevaluated the criteria for GATE eligibility. RBUSD students will be eligible for GATE by performing at or above the 95th percentile on the Otis Lennon School Ability Test (OLSAT) or the Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT). All third grade students in RBUSD will have equal opportunity to participate in either the OLSAT or NNAT assessment. Third grade parents will be notified as we get closer to the April assessment window and will have the opportunity for their child to opt-out of testing. Fourth and fifth grade students who have not taken the OLSAT/NNAT in previous years and/or are new to RBUSD will also have the opportunity to participate.

If your child does not qualify for GATE identification, that does not mean that he/she is not bright and does not have incredible school and life potential. Please be sensitive in talking with your child about this topic as we do not want any student to feel any undue pressure, anxiety or stress about this topic. If you have concerns, please seek out your child's teacher or principal. For more information regarding identification of gifted students overall, please visit:

http://www.nsgt.org/giftedness-defined/.
 
AFTER SCHOOL ENRICHMENT
GATE students in grade 4-8 are invited to participate in an after school enrichment class that runs for a total of 8 hours during the months of January, February, and March of each school year. The enrichment classes are taught by RBUSD teachers at the student's school site. 
 
ELIGIBILITY

Effective January 2, 2014, Redondo Beach Unified School District (RBUSD) students may qualify for the Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) Program through any one of the following criteria:

A percentile score of 95 or higher on a single administration of the

Otis Lennon Ability Test (OLSAT)

OR

Naglieri Non-Verbal Ability Test (NNAT3)

OLSAT and NNAT3 administration occurs in January of each school year for all RBUSD 3rd grade students with parent option to opt-out.

Students from outside districts, both in-state and out-of-state, with existing GATE eligibility who transfer into the Redondo Beach Unified School District may have their eligibility evaluated by the Office of Educational Services upon request.
 
GATE SITE SPECIALISTS

 

School GATE Site Specialist Contact Information
Alta Vista Jamie Siler jsiler@rbusd.org
Beryl Heights Jill Salinaz jsalinaz@rbusd.org
Birney Robin Rau rrau@rbusd.org
Jefferson Emily Butler  ebutler@rbusd.org 
Lincoln Kimberley Caywood kcaywood@rbusd.org
Madison Kristen Lem klem@rbusd.org
Tulita Kristin Pate kpate@rbusd.org
Washington Beverly Gonzales bgonzales@rbusd.org
Adams Middle Amy Tennant atennant@rbusd.org
Parras Middle Jodi Carr

 jcarr@rbusd.org

 

District GATE Contact:
Karin Sato, Teacher on Special Assignment, Educational Services - ksato@rbusd.org